BACK FOR MORE LIKE MY MAN AL JOHNSON

Yep, I’m trying my hand at this blog schitt once again… my first attempt, some of you may remember, was the ill-fated WORLD OF BEATS V.2 back in 2005. Well recieved, but, as is usually the case with me, once the newness was gone from my adventures into blogland I got bored and bailed, never to return. 3 weeks, seven posts- and that was it.

I got back into the blogging slightly once i discovered my next internet fixation- you guessed it, MYSPACE. My thinking was that Myspace had it over just a regular ol’ blog that few people would probably ever see: a built-in network of massive proportions, the ability to put music up on the site, plus more BFF’s than you could ever imagine. One thing about Myspace (well, there’s more than one thing about Myspace, but right now we’ll just deal with one major one that covers most of the little ones)- Myspace is annoying. In so many ways. I’ll go into detail perhaps in a future bloggy blog, but to make a long story short, it didn’t take long for me to get sick of Myspace. Oh, I still mess with it- the ability to reach out and touch people (especially meeting up with some of my old school rap heroes such as Charlie Chase and Prince Whipper Whip, among others) is a great thing. But I recently have found myself staying away from Myspace for extended periods… I just can’t take it, man.

So I’ve been getting a number of e-mails and messages telling me to revive the old World Of Beats V.2 blog… okay, i’m gonna try. BUT… we’re gonna change the game this time around. WOBV2 was all about my stuff, stuff I did, stuff I tried to do, stuff I kinda did, etc. etc. This time it’s gonna be a whole new blog, and although I’m glad there are a nice amount of folks out there who care about my own creative output, I’m not gonna limit what I post just to my own creations. THIS time I’m gonna do this like a real blog and will drop ANYTHING by ANYBODY that I deem to be… say it along with me, all together now… THAT. REAL. SCHITT.

What is THAT REAL SCHITT? Put it like this- if it’s featured in this blog, that’s what it is.

How often I’m gonna be able to do this I dunno, but I’m gonna try to be diligent about updating no less than once a week, hopefully more. Lots of old school MP3’s, lots of old beats, breaks and just dope music, art, flicks (photos), WHATEVER. Plus of course I’ll drop my views on anything and everything… that’s what a blog is for, after all.

I’ll set it off with a live old school goody, courtesy of Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force / Cosmic Force. Those of y’all who only know Bam and the crew from records like Planet Rock and Looking For The Perfect Beat need to know the deal- Soulsonic Force was a straight up hip hop crew back in the days before making those electro-hop hits and donning the spaced out P-funkesque stage outfits. I really love this clip where they’re emceeing over the Freedom break- my man MC Globe, who to me is one of the best and most underrated rappers of all time, sounds crazy sharp and on point, as usual. Pow Wow, Chubby Chubb, Little Ikey C all rock the mic as well… “So don’t you dare hollar with that ring around ya collar / ya better get set for the man Bambaataa”… FRESH.

bamcard.gif (48327 bytes) soul anim.gif (28573 bytes)
images courtesy of http://www.jayquan.com/ THE FOUNDATION… best old school hip hop source in existence, bar none

download Africa Bam & The Soulsonic Force w/ Cosmic Force live 1980 RIGHT HERE:

2 Comments

  1. ahhhh yeahhhh… thats that real shit baby! lets here a lot more of that old skool them young kids dontknow nothin about that!!!

  2. that pic is killin it!whachutalkinbout?!the dynasty!!!the soulman!!

Leave a Reply

