THE FUNKY FLORIDIAN WHO ROCKS THE HOUSE AT POST MERIDIAN

I don’t regret a lot of things in my life, man, but I got a few hip hop-related things that I KNOW I’m gonna always regret. Near the top of that short list (maybe at the very top) is that I wasn’t able to put out my dude Willie Evans Jr‘s debut album on my World Of Beats record label in 2006. Oh, I wanted to- STILL want to. For those who ain’t up, Willie is in my opinion like the best kept secret in rap. Jacksonville, Florida’s finest. Has done amazing beats for Def Jux (Mr. Lif, Perceptionists), Rasco, Eddie Meeks, etc. Toured all over with his group The AB’s (formerly know as Asamov), who put out a truly siiiiick album , “And Now”, in 2005.
Regardless of that Willie Ev record never dropping on World Of Beats- I’ll take the blame for that, but IMO the real blame goes to today’s musical climate that is just not indy-real schitt-friendly- the fact remains that my man is one of the dopest cats out here today. On the beats AND the rhymes. Luckily, it looks like you really can’t keep a good man down- Willie was recently selected to be a member of the Rawkus 50… so that Willie Ev solo appears to be going down after all. That’s what I’m talkin’ bout.
What I’m gonna do is hit you with the initial songs that got me proclaiming that WILLIE EVANS JR. IS THE FUTURE back in 2005 (or was it 2004? time flies, don’t it?), plus drop the Wu-Tang Clan “C.R.E.A.M. (Willie Evans Jr. Remix)” video. Get ready to liquidate your ass-ets to go purchase his cass-ettes…

WILLIE EVANS JR. – Vaughn RE-UPPED (it’s been a couple years now, but this joint still gets me every time)

5 Comments

  1. Hi Phill!Never heard of Willie Evans jr., thats some great stuff!I hope that his Album is coming soon, I definitely gonna buy one!Any chance of getting the CREAM remix as an mp3?PeaceSTMP.S. For all the people downloading stuff and not even got a minute to post a comment – THINK ABOUT IT – without any support there will be no underground and no great blogs like this one! Keep supporting!

  2. to STM:thanks for the support, my dude. comments from downloaders or whoever is checkin’ out this realness are most appreciated… lets me know that this blog is worth doing. either that or i can just start running ads on this site…. hey, that might not be such a bad idea regardless! can you say $$$$? lolol

  3. I somehow never saw this one post by you. I really believe Willie Ev is one of the most talented cats out there. In many ways I think he’s a much more well rounded artist than I am…and you know I give props to no one. You were right, dude is THE TRUTH. Thanks for puttin me onto him. One of my rare inspirations to pick up the pen…and don’t even mention the beats. He might even be messin’ with you a lil bit, and that’s no diss – just big ups to this kid. Peace, Soma 45.

  4. i’m reppin’ the duval and i’ve had the opportunity to rub elbows with willie and attend some AB’s shows. Even fortunate enough to cop willie’s solo album lab shrapnel, which is extra fresh…….i really hope he and they [the AB’s] get their due respect!peace

Leave a Reply

