A MASS PRODUCTION

You really need to drop whatever you’re doing and take the train over to my guy Mr. Mass’ blog right now… it’s a dope site regardless but it’s buckwhylin’ right now with a spankin’ new interview featuring some guy named Phill Most A.K.A. The Soulman. MUST READ MATERIAL is the initial call, but I’m not exactly an unbiased critic, so check it out for yourself and come to your own conclusions. Mass also drops some Bollywood heat, all kinds of mixes and remixes and videos. Ken Sport, Psycho Les, DJ Day, Jake One. And more and more and more and more and more. Are you still here reading this even though I told you to drop everything and hightail your ass over to Mass’ blog in the very first sentence??? Go. NOW. Just come back here when you’re done there and tell me how ya like me now like Kool Moe Dee.

3 Comments

  1. Phill that was a great interview, now you know I have some stuff to say though being a part of Philly hip hop from 79 on up and hearing you say that m.c.’s from Philly were spitting gibberish!!Well okay I counted to 10 and now I’m ready!! I take it that those were the m.c.’s you first encountered I admit the ones on the record scene weren’t that hot but we had some m.c.’s that were down by law, hate to admit they were few and far between!!OOOOh do I hate that though maybe because I m.c.’d at that time and I’d agree with you til about 82 after hearing a tape ofthe Kool Moe Dee and Busy Bee Battle I was a fan of Moes for the long haul probably became his clone. I took on the task of being one of the greatest battle rappers in my area and I mainly emulated the Great New York rappers styles whoever was on top I tried to write better and for the mot part I succeeded,in fact I didn’t sound much like a “Philly m.c.”. But wait there was Robbie B and M.C. Ceaser,Cosmic Ace and Daddy G to name a few who rapped , harmonized and rocked the crowd, whie their respected D.J.s tore it up Grandmaster Nell, Jazzy Jay (Philly), Dj Thorpe to name a few.Enough of that stuff though I enjoyed the readings a lot in fact I was wondering where did your mixtapes circulate at I don’t believe I’ve seen one!! I wouldn’t mind hearing them!! Thank you for the kind words that you have shared about Philly and if it is any constellation i feel the same way that at that time I didn’t like Philly hip hop not the underground circuit but the recorded music. Everytime I would hear a track it was like light years away from what New York was doing. Thank God for our Dj’s huh!!Great job!! Thank You

  2. hey olskool4real-like i said in the interview, i was only describing how i felt at that time, coming from the NY area (where this whole hip hop thing started) and seeing the philly scene for the first time. you know how NY cats were, not really trying to hear anybody from other places. i definitely saw the error of my ways on that count. BUT as far as the gibberish goes… yeah, there were dudes in Philly who would get on the mic and straight say stuff that wasn’t even real words and they were getting major love on the streets! I’m not gonna name names because I wasn’t out to make any personal attacks, but hey, it’s real. One of my young boys who I actually got started rappin’ hooked up with Lady B for a minute and was down with her crew, rappin’ on her radio show. I KNOW that dude didn’t have any rhymes, he was DEFINITELY doing the gibberish fast rap thing! Regardless of that, please believe that I learned that there were a lot of dope emcees in Philly with true skills as well, and as the 80’s progressed that became more and more evident.What name did you go by back then? I think I recall reading something at oldschoolhiphop.com but I don’t remember all the details. Believe me, I rep Philly to the fullest these days. Peace to Robbie B… DJ Jazz, that’s my man to this day.

  3. Much repect Phill, I can understand that and for us underground heads that is what pissed us off the most. I was known as Eazy D, Then M.C. Destroyer, I repped North Philly in and about the West side of Broad through Cumberland and Diamond and between 22nd and Broad mainy, I am being specific because as a local artist you may be asking people that although I may know them in passing or being around them, they don’t tend to remember unless you made it big. They may not say anything if they bit my sh** or got taking out in a battle. some may know me as Scan man the B-Boy who was associated with Snake and Sir glide of the Scanner Boys. They were popular Breakdancers and poppers in the city.i rocked with a D.J. named Rockinghood and Tricky Jay these cats were locals as well, Rockinghood began getting fame by D.J.ing at the Dynasty night club on Broad and Cumberland he was noticed by the Block Boys Lonnie and Dex(Action jackson)who he recorded a record went. he also laid the cuts on A.K.R. I made it. But didn’t get any credit for it. Bobby Dance was involved so it was shiesty anyway!!!Phill I have left a ton of history on OSHH and I love talking Philly hip hop because many have been misinformed I agree with everything you said and then some. There were a ton of wack ass m.c.’s out there I think Breeze said it well on It aint New York. The Hip Hopp I miss is the same as the one you miss just that mines began in Philly yet as an m.c. I was inspired by the Great Kool Moe Dee who in my book is the greatest because he changed the way we rapped back then, while cats was on their ABC he was formulating lyrics with metaphors and strong words, and said them usng proper grammer!! man did I want to be like Moe!! Well hell I wasn’t too far from it but I honsetly couldn’t touch Moe and for many headz that know Moe and really followed Hip Hop you know what I am talking about!!

Leave a Reply

