THE ROC BOYS GO TO NAWLINS

You probably don’t believe me, but I really do like some new music. It’s true. But whether it’s new or old, it’s just got to be THAT REAL SCHITT. And real schitt is still being made today. You’ll know this every time that Jay-Z puts out a new album, because every real schitt producer from here to Myspace is gonna grip up them Hov acapulcos and align some boom bappin’-azz beats to them.
Actually, I haven’t heard all that many remix albums for Jay’s “American Gangster” lp. There probably are hundreds of them floating around out there, but I don’t pay much attention to what’s new anymore. One did catch my ear, though… the “Real Live Gangster” joint put together by K-Def (of 90’s group Real Live / Marley Marl protege fame). I heard a lot of good words spoken about this, so I checked it out- very nice indeed. Definitely better beats than the og American Gangster lp, although still not quite hardcore real schitty for my tastes (but then again, I am kinda ridiculous with my love for the rawness, so don’t go by what I say).
I’m not gonna drop the whole album, but I will give you one of my faves- K-Def’s take on “Roc Boys (And The Winner Is)”. One of the few songs on American Gangster that really didn’t need a new beat IMO (that Menehan Street Band schitt is off the meatrack, son), but K-Def gave it a whole new feel by flippin’ one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite groups, New Orleans funk legends The Meters. Check K-Def’s joint then check the Meter’s schitt too… you really can’t go wrong either way.
8 Comments

  1. respect to K-Def and his remix of the album, but you should check out the ‘Beirut Gangster’ – remixed version of that Jay Z album…

  2. yeah, i wish i had the time (or the inspiration) to get into making beats again… i haven’t messed with my mpc in years. maybe one day i’ll get that spark… i wouldn’t hold my breath, though.

  3. The Soulman!Didn’t know you were all up in the blog game: great stuff. I was really feeling this remix album too.Check my spot soon for more info on K-Def.Cheers,Danfromdabricks.com

Leave a Reply

