AND NOW… A SOUL / FUNK DROP FOR MY SOUL / FUNK PEOPLE

All right, now here we go… I’m gonna stop trying to be clever and coming at you with unknown, unreleased, unheard and seldom seen schitt and instead just lay some funk on y’alls azzes. There are so many cotdamn music blogs out there in internet land that who knows, you may have already seen all of these lps posted up elsewhere in the blogosphere. I really can’t be concerned with such things- if you can use these babies, grab ’em up right here, right now. If not, get busy or get lost. Most certainly we are talking about THAT REAL SCHITT right here… that real soulful funky schitt.
The pic of the kids up above running at you in their Easter suits is the cover of the Ponderosa Twins Plus One “2+2+1=” lp. Two sets of twins plus another Gary Coleman-lookin’ li’l dude belting out soul harmonies. “Bound” is my schitt off of this album.
Next is the Johnnie Taylor “Wanted… One Soul Singer” lp. GREAT record. This is an album that I tried for years to luck up on out in the field, but alas, I never came across a copy. Never wanted to spend the dough bidding for it on Ebay years later, either- I’m just stubborn like that about records I was never able to catch while out diggin’ (file Skull Snaps in that category as well- still never found an OG in the field, and I don’t even want the damn record now). Anyway, there are a number of loops that were sampled off of this lp but it’s basically just some great soul. See if you recognize the “Ain’t That Loving You” joint if you’re not already up on it.
This King Herbert And The Knights With Jack Harden album is a pretty rare jawn from Canada, but I’ve been lucky enough to come up with two copies, both of which I got before I even knew how rare it was. One of them I traded to Jazzman Gerald many moons ago, the other one is still in my grip (but I may soon flip on Ebay… I’m getting rid of my grails, slowly but surely). Funky instrumental stuff with covers of “Sissy Strut”, “Chicken Strut”, “Amen”, “Ode To Billy Joe”, “Sing A Simple Song”… holy f**k, it’s a veritable break fiesta. I put the “Amen” joint on my “Instrumentality” cd awhile back, but go ahead and get it here if you must.

KING HERBERT AND THE KNIGHTS WITH JACK HARDEN – Amen RE-UPPED

KING HERBERT AND THE KNIGHTS WITH JACK HARDEN lp RE-UPPED


Next we have the Marvin Holmes And Justice “Summer Of ’73” lp straight out of the Bay Area… straight up holy grail status here. Beni B put me up on this waaaay back. The tune “All Night Into Day” is the killer (I dig a lot of Marvin’s stuff, including the “Ooh Ooh The Dragon” schitt).

MARVIN HOLMES AND JUSTICE – All Night Into Day RE-UPPED

MARVIN HOLMES AND JUSTICE – Summer Of ’73 lp RE-UPPED


Last up, the Wood Brass & Steel self titled lp on Turbo from 1976. I had this sitting in my crates for many a year and never paid it no never mind… ah, the folly of youth. Real decent version of the Ronnie Laws classic “Always There” but the jawn is “Funkanova” (featured on my “Do What You Gotta Do” cd). How I slept on this for so long I dunno, but it just goes to show how your tastes can change and grow over time. BOY have my tastes changed with the years- I like all kinds of crazy azz schitt that i never woulda thought twice about in my young, dumb years.

You have been blessed. Hope that’ll hold you for awhile… no telling when I’ll get around to posting again. Ahaha…

12 Comments

  1. Sure, there are other blogs where you can download music, but very few are filled with entertaining, edumacating stories like yours. Killing it, Soulman! You should put all your digging stories and knowledge in print. Fast rap connossieurs and The Real Schitt Crowd would be all over that schitt.

  2. ive been after that ponderosa twins LP for about 2 years ..ever since i first heard “bound” … the bridge in that song was begging to be looped…. i think someones already done it now….never the less im gonna keep digging..thanks for the share!!!

  3. DAAAM!I found a copy of the Marvin Holmes awhile back, but its kind of beat so I never recorded it.Thanks.

  4. Soulman,You brought me joy 1 day before my B-day. Thanks!!!The Ponderosa Twins is unbelievable; How did Numero miss this when they compiled the Home Schooled CD? ‘Turn Around You Fool’ and ‘I Remember You’ are outstanding.Thanks again and,PEACE,Jerome Green

  5. Dirty Waters-yeah, within the first bar of listening to that Johnnie Taylor “Ain’t That Loving You”… I was like ‘oh schitt, that’s Puba’s Big Kids Don’t Play!!!’ Thanks once again Soulman for sharing–I scooped them all up!

  6. just found your blog today, super dope records. looking forward to checking them this weekend. many thanks.

  7. Been looking for the Ponderosa Twins Plus One since my Hard Drive died a month ago (I gave it the 21 gun salute last week, it wasn’t hard finding 21 disgruntled computer users) and google gave me the name of your blog. Thanks you very much for posting it and wish you much success with your blog. Bob Haldemanhttp://z6.invisionfree.com/musicmakespictures

Leave a Reply

