SOULMAN’S MID-NOVEMBER LISTENING MUSIC

How many of y’all remember when I used to do the “Ten Beats To Catch” schitt in Rap Sheet magazine? Oh, you were only 7 years old back in 1994? Okay, never mind that. You may perhaps recall the “Shit I’m Feelin'” piece I used to do on the old World Of Beats website. Don’t know that one either? You have no idea who I even am, do you? Ahhh, well… time moves on, I guess.
Well, I think I want to kinda resurrect those ideas and start hittin’ you with regular songlists of the stuff I’ve been listening to, for whatever it’s worth. Maybe give you a reason to seek out some different music that you wouldn’t normally check for, or maybe just give you another reason to view me as a strange, strange person. Be forewarned, though- everything I listen to is NOT THAT REAL SCHITT. My tastes are varied (and I guess a little strange, too… I dunno, I listen to all kinds of schitt, yo).

Mayer Hawthorne – Just Ain’t Gonna Work Out / When I Said Goodbye
The Revelations featuring Tre Williams – I Don’t Want To Know / Sorry’s Not Enough
Francis Guillon – By My Side
Kanye West featuring Young Jeezy – Amazing (my daughter’s favorite joint of the moment)
Q-Tip – Life Is Better (featuring Norah Jones) / Move / The Renaissance / Won’t Trade / For The Nasty (Remix)
Chicago – Feelin’ Stronger Every Day
Ambrosia – You’re The Only Woman
Electric Light Orchestra – Evil Woman
People Under The Stairs – The Wiz / The Ultimate 144 / Party Animal No. 1
Raphael Saadiq featuring CJ Hilton and Stevie Wonder – Never Give You Up
Sam Cooke – A Change Gonna Come
Jon Lucien – World Of Joy
Lighthouse – One Fine Morning
The January Tyme – I Could Never Love You
The Damnation Of Adam Blessing – Dreams / Lonely
Five Stairsteps – Ain’t Gonna Rest (Till I Get You) / Behind Curtains
Lord Jamar featuring Raekwon – Original Man / Supreme Mathematics (Born Mix)

7 Comments

  1. f**k, dood. naming names is ok but wheres the muusik?!? i come here for mpfrees dood dont hold out on me ahaha

  2. Man, my word verification is ”shined”. LOL! That is a trip.Keep talking to us, Soulman.You have an interesting mind.

  3. TEN BEATS TO CATCH! THAT WAS MY BIBLE MAN….THESE NEW JACKS JUST DONT UNDERSTAND…DOPE TRACK LIST…WHATS YOUR LATES TEN BEATS TO CATCH?PEACEBEAT DETECTIVE

  4. I just watched MALCOLM X again recently and the way Spike used “Change Gonna Come” – powerful. All of Sam Cooke’s stuff is classic.

  5. <>“WHATS YOUR LATES TEN BEATS TO CATCH?PEACEBEAT DETECTIVE”<>what up BD- man, i’m so far removed from the beat game I couldn’t even give you a decent top 10 beats to catch right now (i tried- couldn’t come up with ANYTHING). you should drop a top ten, you’re probably more up on the beats than I am these days.

  6. yeah, i love that album. that one and the graham gouldman thing lp, been listening to those a lot this year. but on that Damnation song Dreams song, they kill it when they get into the “bah-baaaah, bah-BA BAA”s. i love songs where the vocalists start with the bah-bah’s. like the Main Ingredient “Magic Shoes” schitt that Main Source sampled BITD. Anybody got some bah-bah music they can recommend, please do so… i need more bah-bah in my life.

Leave a Reply

