MUSIC FROM JOE’S RECORD PARADISE

I have been sent a lot of mix cds over the years, many of them really good. One of the cds I liked a lot- well, actually there were three of them- were the Joe’s Record Paradise jawns. JRP is a record spot located down in Baltimore, MD and I think some other locations as well. Not sure if these cds were promos or if they were slingin’ ’em in the store. The homie t.E.C.K! (who has some incredible mix joints of his own, the “Mystery Of Ages” series- we’ll cover those here too sometime in the future) sent ’em to me back I guess in the early 2000’s or maybe even the late 1990’s. I can’t remember if I took my blood pressure medicine this morning, so you know you can’t expect me to remember details about mix cds people sent me damn near a decade ago.
Anyway, as I said, I really dug the Joe’s Paradise music selection- kinda like how my dude L-Dula puts it down, these cds didn’t necessarily rock a plethora of ultra rare records (something about mixes that are all about the rarity of the selections just kinda irks me even if it’s good schitt, I dunno why). Just a lot of different stuff that you don’t hear other people playing along with classics that a guy like me just never gets tired of. Matter of fact, t.E.C.K! may have been the dude who put these cds together, I don’t remember (if you’re out there, t.E.C.K!, illuminate me). Well, whoever’s responsible did a very cool, very Soulman-approved job. Two thumbs up.
Only problem is that two of my three copies, volumes 1 & 2, are f**ked. Those CD-Rs from the early 2000’s just seem to not hold up very good- just ask anybody that bought one of my homemade joints from that era. And vols. 1 & 2 are the best ones IMO! I’m gonna lace y’all with volume 3 (the jazzy volume), which is damn nice in it’s own right. But if anybody, ANYBODY out there has vols 1 or 2 or any other volumes that I have never even heard from this series, please hook a Soulman up.


JOE’S RECORD PARADISE – Volume 3

3 Comments

  1. Joe's Baltimore actually closed down a few years back.T.E.C.K. was deeeeep with the vinyl, though. I had the pleasure of buying a good amount of records out of his collection as he was downsizing. I learned A LOT just going through it – this dude was hip to all kinds of stuff, long before the “crate digging community” was up on it. Private issue, gospel, kraut rock, lounge, funk & soul, all over the map. Stuff I have never seen before or since. And some of my favorite records in my own collection came out of there. When I first came over he had a ton of records, two rooms worth. By the last visit, it was down to like… three shelves! It was kind of sad, but kind of cool too. It was like a fiend who just watched his buddy get clean. I'm still hooked, though! I never knew about these CDs. Thanks for the rip. If you see this, J****n, hope you're doing well! Peace, Jonny

Leave a Reply

