MID-JUNE HEADPHONE MUSIC

Mos Def – The Ecstatic – IMO this is the best Mos album since Black On Both Sides, maybe even better. Not perfect, but damn good. I hear a lot of folks saying they ain’t feelin’ Dante’s singing, but I like it a lot when he does it like he does it on this album (as in just to accent the rhyming, not trying to be a real full-time this-is-my-day-job singer). Highlights: “Pistola” (love the nod to the Intruders), “Worker’s Comp”, “Supermagic”, “Roses” (featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow), “Casa Bey”, “History” (with Mos’ Blackstar compadre Talib Kweli) and “Auditorium”, which features a GREAT guest appearance by The Patch, better known as Slick Rick – check it out below.

Drew Nice – People Music II Enchanted Soulthis may be one of my all time favorite mixes, and I’ve heard a lot of good ones.
Dr. York – New lp
Laura Izibor – From My Heart To Yours (Primo Remix)
Jay-Z – D.O.A. The Death Of Autotune
Tomorrow’s People – Open Soul lp
The Sequins – various
Little Milton – Driftin’ Drifter I need to get into some more of Little Milton’s catalog, he’s one of those dudes I always knew about but never really checked for.
James Brown – Goodbye My Love / JB’s – King Heroin (instrumental) – gotta love those Godfather slow jams
Pirimas 3 – I Don’t Know
Jimmy Bo Horne – Get Happy
The Bionic Woman – The Return Of Bigfoot Pt. 2 (soundtrack from the tv show)
Jimmy Spicer – This Is It – one of my favorite purple label era Def Jam joints
Snap aka Red Clay – Snappage Vol. 1 mixtape – for anybody who thinks I don’t like any southern rap just because it’s from down south… wrong. Snap is one of the nastiest emcees alive IMO… I don’t know how many people are familiar with him, but if you’re not you need to get familiar. This schitt is extremely dope to me.
A lot of stuff off of my guy Matthew Africa‘s blog – stayed up til the sun came up one morning just listening to and downloading schitt… great music
A lot of 60’s-style soul that I can’t mention yet because they’ll be on my new mix (coming soon!).

3 Comments

  1. Keep bringing that good schitt Phill!

    I'm feeling the new Mos Def as well, just keeps getting better and better as I get deeper into it. 'Workers Comp.' is my shit right now.

    Cheers,

    Dan

  2. I like “Priority” a lot too… waaay too short though (although I am in favor of short songs for the most part). This album is one of the few I've heard in a while (especially rap) that I don't mind listening to all the way through. Only song on there I really can't get with too much is “Quiet Dog Bite Hard”, but of course that Fela intro is great and I do respect the fact that Mos took it out of the typical Hip Hop box and tried to go elsewhere with it. The song actually has grown on me a little bit.

  3. dert floyd – westside of the moon
    reminds me of jdilla
    if you havent given it a listen, think you will like it

Leave a Reply

