LOVE YOU I DO

I swear I try not to hate on the popular music of today… really, I do. I want to like the sh*t. It’s not like my lifelong dream was to become the old dude with cobwebs hanging off his sack that doesn’t understand why indoor plumbing is a necessity (“those outhouses back in my day did the job just fine“). I do NOT want to be that dude! But try as you might, you become that dude anyway, at least to some extent. There’s really no escaping it. 
And to be honest, being that old dude who tries too hard to accept the ways of the younger generation ain’t a great look, either… at some point it’s only logical that you have a certain amount of contempt for the new sh*t, just because it’s so unlike your old sh*t that you understand and feel warm and comfortable with.
Which brings me to this super nice “Nakamarra” track by the Australian band Hiatus Kaiyote featuring A Tribe Called Quest‘s legendary front man Q-Tip. This song has been out for months now but it still falls under the “new sh*t” category, yet somehow I understand it very well and it makes me feel incredibly warm and comfortable. So see, new music people? This is proof that I (and I think most of us old farts) am NOT out to just hate on all things newly recorded. Yeah, I guess it does have a somewhat retro sound (especially Tip’s verse- as my Facebook friend Ben James said it, “Those chord changes with Q-Tip on top sounds like classic Tribe!”), but I don’t know, all I care about is if I like something or not. And this is new. And I like it. Please, new people, keep making more stuff that I like. (And shout out to vocalist Nai Palm for the ill song stylings that have been making me feel something akin to sunshine ever since I heard this tune.)
A side anecdote concerning The Abstract Poetic- back when I was slingin’ records at the infamous Roosevelt Hotel and the Marc Ballroom record shows in New York City in the mid 90’s there was one time when Tip is over at my table looking through my crates, and we’re talking music and whatnot… now, I am admittedly socially awkward but I am not a stutterer and also not at all a starstruck-type person who’s gonna get flustered around celebrities or anything like that, but for some reason unbeknownst to me while saying something to Tip I got stuck on a word and couldn’t get it out for however many long seconds that felt like minutes, on some straight up Stuttering John from the Howard Stern Show sh*t! Tip is a cool brother and had no reaction, and I played it off well, but let’s just say it was embarrassing. Never happened to me before or since. Definitely NOT so warm and comfortable.     

Leave a Reply

